ASPA Sacramento Annual Awards

Since 1982, ASPA Sacramento has honored individuals, programs, and organizations for excellence in the field of public administration.  Award recipients must live (or be located) in Northern California and must be part of:
   - any level of government (federal, state or local),
   - academia related to public service and/or public administration, or
   - non-profit entity involved in public service and/or public administration.

ASPA Sacramento will announce recipients in April and present awards at our annual event in May. The award categories are:

Chester A. Newland Academic Excellence
Presented to a college student, teacher, administrator, or organization that has demonstrated 
scholarship and leadership in public administration or a closely related field of study, or that 
has made a noteworthy contribution to the education of public administrators.

Community Service
Presented to an individual or organization for sustained leadership in addressing public policy
issues or improving life in Northern California.
Government Innovation
Presented to an individual or organization that implemented a new program, policy, or solution
that made a significant improvement in public service delivery or performance.

Grantland Johnson Intergovernmental Cooperation
Presented to an individual or organization that developed and delivered a program or policy
between different levels of government, resulting in greater efficiency.


Elizabeth Hill Public Administrator of the Year
Presented to a non-elected professional administrator who has consistently demonstrated 
excellence in public management over a sustained period of time.

Rising Star
Presented to a public professional, teacher, or researcher, 35 years of age or younger,
who has made noteworthy contributions to effective government or academia in the
early stages of a promising career.

Ross Clayton Lifetime Distinguished Public Service
Presented to an individual for especially meritorious service in the field of public administration
over the course of a lifetime.

For questions, email: 

Click HERE for more information about past award winners!

Public Service Recognition Week
 May 7-13, 2023

Copyright ©​ [ASPA Sacramento]